Boosterthon vs ScanRaise: Managed or Self-Serve? (2026)
Compare Boosterthon's managed program with ScanRaise's self-serve tools, pricing model, payment flow, athon tracking, and best fit.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works, ScanRaise pricing, ScanRaise feature catalog
About this comparison
Reviewed by the ScanRaise Team
Last fact-checked:
ScanRaise publishes this comparison and is one of the products covered. We link to primary sources and separate published facts from our interpretation.
The short version
Boosterthon offers support ranging from platform-only access through full-service school event management. ScanRaise is self-serve software with a published standard fundraising fee. The practical choice is the level of event support, activity tracking, and payment workflow the school needs.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works, ScanRaise pricing, ScanRaise feature catalog
Booster charges a percentage based on the support level a school selects, from platform-only access through full service. Its public pages do not list an exact percentage or a separate payment-processing rate, so schools must request a current quote. ScanRaise publishes a 2.5% platform fee for standard fundraising and lists payment processing separately.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, Boosterthon fundraising FAQ, ScanRaise pricing
Booster's current service options include Full Service, Shared Service, Support Service, and platform-only access. Depending on the selection, schools may receive consultant guidance, an online fundraising platform, prizes, marketing resources, character content, and event-day help. Booster says fundraiser funds are deposited directly into the school's account, but the cited page does not state a deposit schedule.Sources: How Boosterthon works, Boosterthon overview and pricing model
| Area | ScanRaise | Boosterthon |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Standard fundraising has a 2.5% platform fee with no setup fee, monthly fee, or contract. Listed Stripe processing applies separately.Source: ScanRaise pricing | A percentage based on the selected support level. Exact pricing and a separate processing rate are not publicly itemized on the cited pages; request a quote.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, Boosterthon fundraising FAQ |
| Service model | Self-serve software that an organization configures and runs online.Sources: ScanRaise pricing, ScanRaise feature catalog | Custom support from platform-only access through Support Service, Shared Service, and Full Service event management.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works |
| Payment flow | Connected Stripe campaigns receive donations through the organization's Stripe account. Approved platform campaigns receive monthly check or ACH payouts.Sources: ScanRaise payment flow, ScanRaise pricing | Booster says fundraiser funds are deposited directly into the school's account without invoicing. The cited page does not give a deposit schedule.Source: How Boosterthon works |
| Athon and school events | Per-unit pledges, phone-browser GPS distance tracking, and a browser step counter. Participants may optionally connect Fitbit, choose a day, review its daily summary, and choose whether to import it.Source: ScanRaise feature catalog | School event formats include Fun Run, Color Run, Glow Run, DanceFit, and Fit Games, with online donations, prizes, and event support depending on the selected service.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works |
| Online fundraising tools | QR donation links and cards, peer-to-peer pages, athons, events, auctions, recurring giving, and donor management.Source: ScanRaise feature catalog | MyBooster includes participant pages, online collections, reports, sharing, and prize management. Donor options listed include cards, Apple Pay, and Venmo.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, Boosterthon fundraising FAQ |
Comparison based on the linked first-party sources as of August 21, 2026. Pricing and features change often; confirm current details and any district-specific requirements before deciding.
Where Boosterthon fits
- Schools that want event-day staffing or a higher level of operational support can evaluate Booster's Shared Service and Full Service options.Source: How Boosterthon works
- Elementary communities planning Fun Run, Color Run, Glow Run, or DanceFit events can review Booster's school-event formats.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, Boosterthon fundraising FAQ
- Schools that want prizes, promotion materials, character content, and consultant guidance bundled with the selected support plan may fit Booster's model.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works
- Volunteer-led schools can also evaluate Booster's Support Service or platform-only options rather than assuming every program is fully managed.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works
Where ScanRaise may fit
- Groups that want a published 2.5% standard fundraising platform fee and self-serve setup may prefer ScanRaise's model.Source: ScanRaise pricing
- Organizations can compare connected Stripe with the approved monthly platform-payout option.Sources: ScanRaise payment flow, ScanRaise pricing
- Schools running their own activity event can use per-unit pledges, phone-browser GPS, a browser step counter, and optional participant-reviewed Fitbit daily summaries.Source: ScanRaise feature catalog
- Schools that need Clever, ClassLink, an SDPC resource listing, or Spanish-language core pages can review those documented ScanRaise capabilities.Sources: ScanRaise school security, ScanRaise Spanish site
ScanRaise vs Boosterthon: FAQ
Does Boosterthon publish an exact percentage fee?
Booster says it charges a percentage based on the support level selected, from platform-only through full service. Its cited public pages do not list an exact percentage or a separate processing rate, so request a current quote. ScanRaise publishes a 2.5% platform fee for standard fundraising.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, Boosterthon fundraising FAQ, ScanRaise pricing
Is every Boosterthon fundraiser fully managed?
No single service description covers every Booster engagement. Booster currently documents platform-only access, Support Service, Shared Service, and Full Service. Schools should confirm exactly which staffing, prizes, resources, and event-day services their quote includes.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works
How does Boosterthon describe the payment flow?
Booster says fundraiser funds are deposited directly into the school's account without invoicing or paperwork. The cited page does not state a guaranteed deposit schedule. ScanRaise documents connected Stripe and an approved monthly platform-payout mode.Sources: How Boosterthon works, ScanRaise payment flow, ScanRaise pricing
Can both products support a school fun run?
Booster documents managed and volunteer-led school event options including Fun Run, Color Run, Glow Run, and DanceFit. ScanRaise documents self-serve per-unit pledges, phone-browser GPS, a browser step counter, and optional participant-reviewed Fitbit daily summaries.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works, ScanRaise feature catalog
How should a school choose between the models?
Evaluate the support level, quoted fees, event-day responsibilities, activity-tracking requirements, and payment flow. Booster offers a range from platform-only to full service. ScanRaise is self-serve with a published standard fundraising platform fee and documented school identity features.Sources: Boosterthon overview and pricing model, How Boosterthon works, ScanRaise pricing, ScanRaise school security
Try ScanRaise free
Set up your first campaign online. Standard fundraising has a 2.5% ScanRaise platform fee and no contract. QR donations and browser tracking do not require a ScanRaise app. Optional Fitbit imports require a Fitbit account and app. Connected Stripe campaigns receive funds through the organization's Stripe account; approved platform campaigns receive monthly payouts.Sources: ScanRaise pricing, ScanRaise feature catalog, ScanRaise payment flow
Start Your Fundraiser, Free